Velainu Vandhutta Vellaikaaran Music Review

Velainu Vandhutta Vellaikaaran Music Review

Music Reviews 7-May-2016 3:16 PM IST RM Comments

Director Ezhil and D Imman together have generated some catchy albums. Although their previous ventures weren’t based on serious themes, instead the humour ones managed to gain the appreciations of audiences. For the first time, Ezhil teams up with C Sathya of Engeyum Eppodhum fame in this album titled ‘Velainu Vandhutta Vellaikaaran’ that stars Vishnu Vishal, Nikki Galrani and Soori in lead roles. Touted to be a comedy caper, the film features 4 tracks that have an ensemble of singers.

Singers: Vaikom Vijayalakshmi
Lyrics: Yugabharathi

Quite an innovative move by C Sathya as he manages to blend the folk and Hip Hop as a kind of fusion together and it would surely impress the universal music lovers. When Vaikom Vijayalakshmi is on the track, it’s obvious that the song would be either an emotional number or have the blast with party style. This one belongs to the latter category and lyricist Yugabharathi has written it with simple and catchy lines.

Koothaati Kannula
Singer: Sathya Prakash
Lyrics: Yugabharathi

When it’s an Ezhil film, obviously there would be a mellifluous melody track and this one too has such number titled ‘Koothaati Kannula’. The feelings of a young chap in love for his sweet heart has been very well conveyed by the lyrical lines of Yugabharathi and Sathya Prakash translates them very well with his rendition.

Pappara Mittai
Singer: Sri Ramachandra
Lyrics: Yugabharathi

The song isn’t completely melodic as previous one as it involves the orchestral realms of a band styled pattern. We can credit tons of appreciations for Sri Ramachandra who has given his best to the track and it would surely keep us engrossed with the visuals.

Ayyo Paavam
Singer: Jaya Moorthy
Lyrics: Yugabharathi

The album ends with the pathos based lines from a boy’s perspective over his girl dumping him. The strong vocalism of Jaya Moorthy evokes an attention and there are too many instrumentals that sound little noisy in places.

Overall, the album comprising of four tracks actually gets to attract us through the melodic number ‘Koothaatti Kannula’ and rest of the numbers might gain intensity with the visuals. C Sathya has done his best and he could expect good results with the visuals on the screens.

Verdict: Middling and passable to the ears

Leave your comments here...