Music Review - Deiva Thirumagan

‘Deiva Thirumagan’ has a spellbinding work by G.V. Prakash

Features 18-Apr-2011 11:58 AM IST Top 10 Cinema Comments

It was a musical feast in ‘Kireedom’ and ‘Madharasapattinam’ and the young director-music director Vijay and G.V. Prakash proved that they’re best team. This time, they’re back with a best album ‘Deiva Thirumagan’, but with a difference. Naturally while every film of Vijay stands out as a different showpiece from each other, so has been the musical score of G.V. Prakash. Since ‘Deiva Thiru Magan’ is purely a drama, most of the songs are bounded to conversational type and patently will acquire everyone’s interest with the visuals.

1. Katha Solla Poraen – A lullaby for everyone

Singers: Vikram, Shringa S

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

The song could have been done by anyone else as it carries attractive attributes. Even S.P. Balasubramaniam would have got the song appealing, but then G.V. Prakash makes a different and yet good choice – Chiyaan Vikram. The song is about a father narrating story for his daughter and there are more hilarious factors involved in it. There are lots of adventures involved in the song as Vikram will give a relief to his fans by appearing in surprising looks.

2. Vizhigalil Oru Vaanavil – Relishing a new experience

Singers: Saindhavi

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

It cannot get melodious than this number. Though it has some traces of ‘Unnai Kandene’ (Paarijaatham), G.V. Prakash changes the pattern on the course. His sweetheart Saindhavi croons it splendidly with her beautiful intonation. The song speaks of a girl’s exploration of love within herself.

3. Pa Pa Pa – Simple ‘n’ attractive

Singers: Chiyaan Vikram

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

The song sounds like a nursery rhymes and will doubtlessly go for best results with the visuals. Again, it’s Vikram rendering the song and unlike the other number, he tries picking up a different style. The lyrical lines are so simple and that makes it easily perceived by the listeners.

4. Vennilave – My Love

Singers: G.V. Prakash

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

Ah! Here’s another amazing stroke from G.V. Prakash. The young musician takes up the job of rendering the song with an excellent style. The instrumentals aren’t complicated as he makes use of just bass guitar, lead guitar, and piano and rhythm box. A lovable song that will go gaga amongst the guys as they will dedicate it to their sweethearts.

5. Jagada Thom – No Pain, No Diamond

Singers: SPB, Maya, Rajesh

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

The song that will take more time to gain our interests as it’s a complete situational song. S.P. Balasubramaniam doesn’t go for strained efforts, but makes an impressive approach with his portions. The others singers – Maya and Rajesh add to the perfection quotients. The song has some inspiring lyrics about the hurdles that have to be faced in everyone’s life and anything can be won with firmness.

6. Aarariro – Father’s song for daughter

Singers: Haricharan

Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

G.V. Prakash tries blending the Na. Muthukumar’s lyrics with a beautiful ‘Ghazal’ type melody. Haricharan sways to the extreme of exceeding the levels of perfection. The singers touch even the highest pitch with an ease, which is something off a rare quality. On the instrumental front, G.V. Prakash uses guitars, pianos and stringed instruments and they have a vital significance.

7. Life is Beautiful

The theme music has flute, violin and whistles and the same tune is repeated over and again. Everything sounds fine, but the fill-in between each section could have been avoided as it makes it sounds like a dance performance.

As on whole, ‘Deiva Thirumagan’ has a spellbinding work by G.V. Prakash. Couple of songs ‘Aarariro’ and ‘Vennilave’ will make you listen to the tune over and again. It’s a killer song that will be sustained in our memories forever.

Verdict: Good work by G.V. Prakash

Banner: Sri Rajakaliamman Medias

Production: Mohan Natarajan, M. Chintamani

Direction: Vijay

Star-casts: Vikram, Anushka, Amala Paul, Santhanam, M.S. Bhaskar, Nassar and others

Music: G.V. Prakash

Leave your comments here...